Tiny Ticks

5 Jul

Luckily my young Toller is trusting and allowed my to remove this very tiny black legged tick from her upper right eyelid. I know because I brushed het yesterday in the late afternoon that it hadn’t been there for long; and it wasn’t engorged. Although even a short time came sufficientl for the bacteia to infect her.​

This morning I found another tick. http://phenomena.nationalgeographic.com/2013/10/30/heres-what-happens-when-a-tick-bites-you/
This one even smaller and on her left lower eyelid. What a difficulty to remove! The tick key didn’t work so I had to use tweezers. It was so well attached that I did pull out some of Billi’s hair before finally getting the tick. Both my wife and I worked on her for about 15 minutes and Billi was incredibly calm and well behaved. I doubt that we could have done this to a person.


Later this afternoon I removed a very small tick on my own leg. It could only have been attached for less than two hours. I’ve taken the suggested dosage of 200mg of doxycycline as a precaution.​
Today, July 15th I just removed another small tick from Billi’s upper left eyelid. Just her eyes, I’ve never seen a tick anywhere else on her, even unattached in her fur! July 17 another tick on her eyelid, and had only been attached for possibly 3 hours or less. I’ve made a removal tool from a plastic drinkit straw by cutting a small “V” shaped notch in the tip. Using the straw is the least likely way to hurt her eye and this method doesn’t squeeze the tick.​It certainly helps if your dog is calm ans well behaved. This time Billi actually jumped up onto the picnic table that we have been using for each removal procedure. She always gets a well deserved treat. I can’t imagine but I think we’ve trained her how to do this as her “tick removal trick.”

One Response to “Tiny Ticks”

  1. shaundebbie July 5, 2017 at 11:19 am #

    Found a tick on myself this past weekend. Still roaming so no concern. New norm in outdoor living I am afraid. Be aware all!

Please Leave a Reply

