Oregon coastal highway

30 Sep

I’m here, awesome. I’ve a couple of new blog followers, thanks to you all.
Last night was a single bagger; meaning I didn’t need two sleeping bags nestled together. It was the warmest night that I’ve camp so far, about 12degC when I got up.
image

Lots of places to pull off for pictures, this is Seal Rocks.
I lucked out and found a fantastic coffee house in Yachats. Green Salmon Coffee Company. I seem to have developed a traveler’s skill of finding great places to eat and this one deserves being stored into my GPS into the growing “food” list.
image

image
The picture above is from the overlook at Devil’s Churn at Cape Perpetua.
I stopped at Hecceta Head Lighthouse and walked the beach, met a smoke jumper who trained at the Cascades base where Sammy and I are a year ago. We witnessed a harbour seal that had beached itself. Aggressive to us and we assume wanted to be alone, although we felt badly that it wanted to stay on dry sand and avoid the incoming tide. It seemed very lethargic but hustled to avoid the incoming waves. Sad.
image
Just a neat sign on the side of a store.
image

My day ended here in Port Orford. I decided to motel it for the night to be able to ride longer and start earlier tomorrow. Not a bad day, I took 117 pictures and the trip odometer shows just over 7,000km since I left home in Kingston Ontario.
image

with a fish dinner at The Crazy Norwegian’s and one of these to get re-hydrated. image

Great beer, a bit hoppy, a bit sweet but not bitter. I’ve had a perfect day; I went in a mile or so on gravel and did a U-turn because it didn’t get me closer to the river I wanted to go to look for an agate. Ya right, what were my chances of finding one. Well, I’ve done it before and got lucky in a creekbed flowing into Lake Superior. My GPS had only one circuitous hick-up late this afternoon but the extra loop was scenic.
Meyers Creek Beachimage

Posted from WordPress for Android

One Response to “Oregon coastal highway”

  1. Stromtrooper Mudbutt October 1, 2015 at 10:40 am #

    The overlook pic is spectacular.
    Bob

Please Leave a Reply

