Exploring Oregon

25 Sep

I decided to camp for both Thursday and Friday nights at Cutsforth Park and spend a day riding a loop
image

to put my hand in the Columbia River.
image

I saw the biggest wind farm that I’ve ever seen, the Columbia Gorge Bi-state Regional Energy Zone.
image
image

This morning, Saturday, I’ve spoken with Bob and hope to connect with him. He has offered to take me on a tour Sunday.
I stopped in Spray because of the bake sale, unfortunately it was sold out but the museum was interesting and I enjoyed my time talking with the hostess. The road from Fossil, yes there is a gas station in town, to Antelope is even better to ride than I expected from my research. WooHoo.
At Bob’s suggestion I camped at The Cove Palisades campground at Lake Billy Chinook; apparently it closes this weekend so I was possibly the last to register this season. I witnessed the full moon as is popped over the edge of the high rock wall to illuminate the campground. There was a good layer of frost in the morning. My sleeping bags together, and a warm fleece jacket and my balaclava provide me options to keep warm and sleep well. But I did find it cold when I got up was sitting at my picnic table having breakfast. It takes a long time before the sun reached down into my site.
image

image
image

image

I lucked out and had a beautiful campsite, slept well and Bob arrived at 9:30 in the morning, we left the bikes at his home and he
took me on an afternoon hike at Smith Rock state park.
image

image

I’m staying over with Bob and Cathy, generous and gracious hosts, thank you so much. In their driveway I washed the Vstrom and took off the sided cases to make it easier for the shop install new tires first thing Monday. While my bike is in the shop Bob plans to take me on a tour and do more hiking; I very fortunate to have met someone with so much local knowledge and a passion to show me some of Oregon that I would never have found on my own.
Monday we dropped the bike off Pro-Caliber Motorsports and went hiking to the Paulina Falls, the Pailina Peak to look down into the Newberry caldera and finally see the obsidian lava flow, glass only 1,300 years old. In geologic time scale terms that’s like only minutes before we arrived.
image

image

image

In comparison the pumice rock is much lighter; of course Bob is a pretty strong guy.
image

The shop had the bike all finished when we returned late in the afternoon. I left with new rubber and oil and a throttle lick a good overall feeling that the work was done properly and charges fair, just as quoted. Thanks Pro-Caliber.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Please Leave a Reply

