WooHoo

18 Sep

Things are looking better. The riding and scenery is now great.
image

I had a tough cold start this morning with dark grey skies and I began to wonder just what kind of trip I had gotten myself into. It was just a long haul from Wright to Casper. Not fun. Then I saw blue sky, green vegetation and spectacular red rocks. Wyoming is spectacular and I’ve spent my whole day between 5200 and 6800ft elevation.
image
I could see the snow peaked tops of the mountains of the Wind River Range. Look closely over the top of my bike.
image

From there to Lander, for lunch, and on to the KOA in Dubois for the night.
image

Nice facilities, right in town, great owners. Barbara even had cheese, crackers and jelly for me! Wonderful to have a strong WiFi conection right in my tent. It is expected to touch freezing overnight, I’ll let you know how my sleeping bags work out.
image

Snowy mountains in the distance from downtown Dubois.
image

A wonderful dusk with brilliant colours.
image

It’s morning here and I’m comfy in my two sleeping bags, one fits inside the other. I went to bed last night about 9:30pm and it is 8:45am and I should get up, but I’m warm. Only 6 degrees so I might walk to get breakfast at the Cowboy Diner and pass on cold granola at my camp site. Instead I enjoyed meeting John and Kathy at their place, Kathy’s Coffee is the best within a thousand miles and the bacon and French toast was perfect. I’m off to a late start but enjoying the warm sun.
image

I crossed the continental divide this morning, Saturday, and saw recent snow along the roadside,
image

it was only 8deg C at about 9600ft.
image

Riding hwy 36 from Dubois all the way to Jackson is excellent, even though there was lots of Saturday tourists complete with motorbikes.
Through Jackson Hole, hwy 22 to Victor Idaho through the Teton pass was a blast to ride. Most exciting corners yet on this trip.

Posted from WordPress for Android

One Response to “WooHoo”

  1. bikermissus September 21, 2015 at 5:33 am #

    Love your pictures, spectacular scenery!

Please Leave a Reply

