My next adventure ride is westbound

1 Sep

It’s been months of planning and now I’m getting to the crunch with now only 10 days left before I leave.  All my research on the internet, time spent looking at paper maps, and many hours zooming around on GoogleEarth have to be compressed into rideable GPS route files in my Garmin Zumo.
image

I’m about to be spoiled by having a month of solo riding, probably close to 8,000 km and will include lots of mountain twisties and the coastal highway in Oregon and California, and some remote campsite off the beaten path like Cape Mendicino, before I get to Las Vegas to pick up my wife. She will have flown there and we will be riding 2-up homebound.  Of course we’ve got some time planned to explore Zion, Bryce, Grand Canyon, Sedona and many more places before we really start for home.
image

The Suzuki has proven to be completely dependable but I’ve already made arrangements in Bend Oregon to treat it to some new Metzler Tourance tires and do an oil and filter change.  I might even wash it before I leave home, but frankly I don’t see the point. The K&N air-cleaner element is good to go, and no other cleaning really affects the bike’s performance.

Today I left my boots at a local shoemaker where they are getting some well earned stitching repairs and I just washed my RoadCrafter riding suit and gave it a NikWax waterproof treatment.  In the next few days small piles of gear will start to appear around the house as I pack. It is a mess, but I love the preparations. Being prepared is all part of a successful adventure ride; sometimes big things are about the small details.

2 Responses to “My next adventure ride is westbound”

  1. Experimental Ghost September 2, 2015 at 7:13 am #

    8000km solo? Me jealous? Nah.

  2. bikermissus September 2, 2015 at 9:06 am #

    Sounds like an amazing trip!

Please Leave a Reply

