Special shoes for motorcycle touring – Sketchers.

18 Mar

Special shoes for motorcycle touring. Sketchers. Huh ?

I was shopping for was a new pair of lightweight running shoes; something to change into and give my feet a rest from long days in my high protecting Sidi OnRoad motorcycle boots.

IMG_20130206_160921Sidi Vibram

 

Space and weight are serious considerations when packing gear for a motorcycle trip so anything that is non-essential must be very lightweight and squishy or it will be left at home.

I sometimes have traveled with my Teva sandals but often prefer to wear socks and I wanted a casual looking shoe for walking around towns that I visit, and didn’t want a brightly coloured goofy looking pair of runners.

 

 

Check out these walking shoes with reflective material at $80US on the Sketcher website.  http://www.skechers.com/style/53872/skechers-gowalk-3-reflective/bksl

I found just what I wanted yesterday at a SoftMoc outlet in Whitby Ontario for only $40CDN

http://minimalistrunningshoes.org/skechers-gobionic-shoe-review

According to the brochure in the box “Sketchers GObionic ride features nature-inspired GObioninc engineering plus enhanced Resalyte cushioning and a 4 mm heel drop. This lightweight running shoe with 18 articulated bi-responsive cushioning zones in the outsole offers great flexibility with elevated support and comfort.”     “Go Like never Before”

Well how could I resist a pair of “GObionic ride” running shoes? I needed to try some on.

Definitely light at only 7.5 ounces and very flex flexible, scrunchy and twisty, so easy to pack.

DSCF1201 GObionic

The breathable mesh stretches so my toes can splay out giving a wide fit and the negative heel design and mid foot strike cushioning give a feel like my foot is rolling forward along my entire sole and not just a single flex at my toes. An amazing design improvement for someone like me with serious arthritis in my big toes.

Apparently the Ortholite anti-microbial insole wicks away moisture and helps inhibit odour and the Agion scent protection built-in will combat odour.

The insole comes out easily and they will be washable by hand in a sink and can be tied securely on my top case to air dry as I ride. I expect that they would also be fine to wear in the water, so possibly a good choice for canoe trippers. These Sketchers are made with some high-tech anti-stink properties but I’m sure I can get them plenty stinky if I travel far enough.

DSCF1202e GObionic ride

I would describe them as soft, stretchy and comfortable like a favourite pair of my old socks complete with a rubbery coating on the bottom and a soft arch support. There is no feeling of anything on my feet. I feel nothing solid or stiff, no heel cup, no toe box, no pressure points and no bumps or irritations of any stitching or folds in the material. They are comfortable even in my bare my feet. The size 11 (normally I wear size 10) fits me perfectly.

I was skeptical because Sketchers feel so light and soft that probably they would wear out quickly.  I’ve now researched and some of the fastest runners in the last Boston Marathon wore Sketchers and there are reports on-line of runners and joggers who have 500 or more miles on their Sketchers and still training in them. I expect that the soft spongy injected-molded sole will certainly last me for the all the walking mileage I will do.

My wife says that these are just shoes; but to me, with a name like “GObionic ride,” these are must-have-gear that any serious long distance Vstrom adventure rider needs.

Please Leave a Reply

