Canadian Breakfast

1 Mar

Breakfast is the most important meal for me because I usually wake up hungry. This morning as I was eating the cornbread that I had made three days ago I realized that what was on my plate was just so Canadian.

IMAG4329e Canadian Breakfast

 

I had thin slices of cornbread heated in the microwave, some with Canadian maple syrup and some with Canadian cheddar cheese and served with Canadian aka peameal back bacon. It’s also great with a poached egg.

IMAG4330 Canadian breakfast

My recipe for cornbread comes from a friend (thanks Michele) although I’ve modified it because I cook like a guy, so don’t follow anyone’s directions or take instructions well.

1) Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl:  1 & 1/2 cups cornmeal,  1 cup of all purpose flour, 1 cup multigrain flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tablespoons baking powder, 3/4 teaspoon salt.

2) In a smaller bowl melt 1/3 cup of butter in the microwave, add 2 cups of milk and 2 eggs. Beat well with a wisk.

3) Add liquid to dry ingredients and blend thoroughly with a spatula.  Possibly add a small amount of extra flour if you don’t think the consistency it right.  (Thick like muffin mixture and sticky and spongy like bread dough)

4) Line a Pyrex glass baking pan 9″ X 14″ with parchment paper (baking for me is all about minimizing the mess and easy clean-up). Dump in the mixture. Smooth it around a bit with the same spatula.

5) Bake at 425°F for 25 minutes.

It might keep well in the fridge in airtight containers, but mine usually gets eaten in just a few days.

Please Leave a Reply

