Potential Impact Crater – Andover Maine

9 Oct

Ever since I parked to take a picture of the wet boggy area near Ellis Pond I have been curious about the area. The location map via my SPOT tracking device of the Lovejoy covered bridge that I visited, shows a circular pattern of hills surrounding the pond that resembles other craters that I have looked at using GoogleEarth.
image

I think that have discovered that this is an impact crater, in which is located Andover Earth Station, as of Monday October 6th, 2014.
image

Posted from WordPress for Android

3 Responses to “Potential Impact Crater – Andover Maine”

  1. Tom Neumann October 9, 2014 at 11:06 am #

    I can see why you woudl think that. I doubt it, though. I suspect it is more a result of how the ridges formed there. Another area that looks like one is Burke’s Garden in Virginia (but it isn’t one either.)

    • windtogo.wordpress.com October 9, 2014 at 11:36 am #

      Thanks for following. I’m yet a long way from proving my theory, but Ellis is round and Burke’s Garden is oblong. Any meteor splats, as I call them, that I’ve looked at are very round, and some nearly perfect circles.

  2. Fred martineau November 1, 2015 at 4:19 pm #

    Around the rim of this depression are many pegmatites. Pegs are formed when hot materials is forced into cracks in the earth. After millions of years these pegs are showing as the mountains weather. Why not an impact zone as something cracked the crust in that atea./

Please Leave a Reply

