Metzler Tourance tires and date codes

9 May

I just recieved a “new” Metzler Tourance front tire that I ordered. I won’t mention the company yet by name depending upon if I get a satisfactory replacement. I checked the date of manufacture code ( 0810 means the 8th week of 2010 ) on the sidewall and realized they shipped me a tire that was over four years old.
image

Thanks to US DOT regulations all motorcycle tires manufactured since 2000 have a four digit date code moulded into the sidewall. It’s very simple to check when a tire was born. The rubber compound, thst I call it stickum, that provides us with the traction needed to ride safely, deteriorates with age and exposure to ultraviolet light.
I believe that there are laws in the US and tires aged five or more years are considered expired and cannot be sold. Transport Canada does not regulate the sales or shelf life of tires. It’s up to the buyer to beware. Tires do have a shelf life so be sure to ask your tire supplier before you buy.

After a long discussion on the phone with the company I was informed that I would have to give an additional credit card authorization if I wanted another tire shipped to me. The customer service representative aggreed not to ship me another unless the date of manufacturing was reasonable. A tire made in 2014 or 2013 is acceptable to me. On May 14 I recieved another EXP tire, see date code below of the 25th week of 2013.
image

So now I have paid for 2 tires, one being an old stale dated tire that I am attempting to return to them for a full refund. I certainly expect a full refund and that they should cover all my shipping expenses. I’ve just found about their refund policy.
“Tires: returns or exchanges on tires will incur a fee of up to 25% and are not eligible to receive a return shipping label.”
They shipped me old stock, over four years old. I’ll keep you posted.
Wish me luck, eh.

On May 16, after a phone call to the company they sent me, by email, a postage paid mailing label and later the same day I sent the old tire back to them. I’m expecting with 3 weeks to get a refund for the old tire on my credit card. I just received an email today May 20th that I’ve been given a full credit for the old tire with I returned. I’ll just consider it a mistake on their part and they were  cooperative to remedy the situation. Canada’s Motorcycle should never have sold a tire that was over 4 years old so I would caution anyone buying from them to confirm the date of manufacture before agreeing to pay.

” Item: Metzeler Tourance EXP Front Tire 110/80R-19


Your refund is being returned to your original method of payment. Please allow 3 to 5 business days for the refund to appear on your statements.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us.

Thank you for shopping with us,

Canada’s Motorcycle
1-877-526-7415
www.canadasmotorcycle.ca ”

 

Posted from WordPress for Android

3 Responses to “Metzler Tourance tires and date codes”

  1. bikermissus May 9, 2014 at 8:52 am #

    Wow. I’ve never actually checked the date codes on tires, but obviously I should start! Brutal. Thanks for the heads-up.

  2. DRF May 9, 2014 at 10:13 am #

    I’ve never checked the date either. I will be now thanks to your post. I hope they give you a replacement or at least a refund.

  3. Darrel Cummings March 12, 2015 at 12:31 pm #

    Are you kidding? I ride older tires all the time, and I mean ride! Please send me that worthless “outdated” tire.

Please Leave a Reply

