Adventure Rider

20 Nov

Rider or biker? You can dress to look like a biker. ( Toe-Cutter, Johnny the Boy, and ?, The Goose, and ?)

toecutter

mad_max_goose_bikeSmokingBiker

A rider is a skilled motorcyclist

DSCF7053e_edited-1Colin Edwards looking through the turn

An adventure rider who isn’t sure which direction to go might look like this …

DSC00253_edited-1

and has to ride with an open mind regardless how cold and wet he gets

DSC00587_edited-1

and be spontaneous to be able to appreciate and enjoy the people or the wildlife along the way.

Of course having an appearance, behaviour and attitude that encourages and allows strangers to approach sure helps.

DSC00617e

Planning for the trip is the first part of my fun. I will often spend as much time planing a long trip as I do to ride it.  I’ve been into maps since I was a kid; I have some sort of a trained Pavlovian response to maps after studying topographical maps and planning canoe trips with my Dad. I talk to riding buddies and forum inmates, research on-line and read books to figure out where I want to go then locate those places on a map, and try connecting those places with the most interesting roads. 

Not everyone has an open mind nor is open to adventure ………….  When faced with the prospect of leaving his comfortable life to go on a vague quest with a group of strangers,  Bilbo Baggins said to Gandalf . “We are plain quiet folk and have no use for adventures. Nasty disturbing uncomfortable things! Make you late for dinner!”

One Response to “Adventure Rider”

  1. bikermissus November 22, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Great article, love the Tolkien quote. Admittedly I am a hobbit by nature, and if it wasn’t for motorcycles I probably wouldn’t venture far outside my own postal code. The love of riding pushes me to go outside of my comfort zone, and I am eternally grateful for that!

Please Leave a Reply

