Iron Skull Folk Festival

21 Jul

The fog cleared and it was sunny for a short period and I parked and went for a short hike through the spongy landscape.
image

I’m in Belleoram

image

image

and it’s mid afternoon and the show starts in just s few minutes. I bought this very CD from Cyril and Russ. I’m here today because Captain Roy Piercey is Cyril’s brother and he sent me. Small world eh, I get a lift in the tray and end up listening to the captain’s brother perform. I have some great pics of Roy at work, that I now know who to send them to.

image
This is a salmon feeder which sprays out food into the fish farming containers, each of which may have thousands of salmon.

image

Already I enjoyed myself in this community. I learned lots about the salmon industry from Gord and Angus on the warf who took some time to show me around and answer all my questions.

image

image

image

Along the way earlier this morning the slow fog eventually cleared and I had a chance to ride along a lobster coloured series of linked twisties. There are a few hazards and one technical error could end my trip. Later in the day I found another lobster coloured highway with the surface in excellent condition and, after a snack of scallops, I followed it much of the way from to Wreck Cove.
image

Great food in English Harbour West.
It’s very tempting to wind up the Vstrom into 6th gear but respect for the speed limits and the safety of others who live or drive along the road is important. The limits may seem to be low, but considering all the hidden sideroad and driveway entrances, they are proper. Potholes, bumps, roadkill and the risk of meeting Mr Moose are incidental. I’m a conservative rider and there are plenty who might out-ride me; but I haven’t covered this much of North America foolishly.

image

image

image

Lots of nature just a short walk from any road in any direction. Marked hiking trails and boardwalks are everywhere.
image
There are so many fascinating things to take pictures of and I an obsession for brightly coloured fishing gear.

If Jim was still riding with me today ( he is seriously colour blind ) he would have enjoyed all the bright colours including the lobster coloured roads with yellow painted center lines.
image

On this trip I’ve ridden on gray, black, green and red pavement, no surprise because NL has lots of very interesting rock. Earlier on this trip I met some geologists who fascinated me and I bought a geology text book in hopes that I might be able to figure out some details of the rocks that I’ve collected. With the extra weight or rocks with the canned food in my side case it’s no wonder why I struggle getting the bike up and onto the center stand.

Returning along hey#362 I saw what I had missed in the fog earlier this morning. My phone pics aren’t too bad. I often take some to post and use the Fuji camera for my serious attempt at photography. Hopefully, with the polarizer filter they will show the sky even better. The large mountain like rock probably has a name.
image

image

Please Leave a Reply

