Northern Seal – Coast of Bays

19 Jul

I got up early with an alarm at 5:00 and rode in a mix of thick fog and clearing conditions and saw a moose crossing safely ahead of me. It’s amazing that critters so large pass out of and into brush so thick that they cross the roads like ghosts. Some of the road sides need some brush clearing to allow driver’s more space to see moose. In some places the brush has been allowed to grow almost to the pavement. Personally I think the government shouldn’t spend huge dollars on fences and warning systems but just cut some brush.

Even after stopping for a few photo ops, I arrived at the dock in Bay L’Argent and only one family was already there although. I was almost first. This beautiful 42ft Morris sailboat “Rejoice” was in harbour.

( in 2012 she circumnavigated Newfoundland http://sailrejoice.com/ )

Rejoice

Rejoice

Barry and his young son, I have a pic with him on my bike, suggested where to park so I would be ready to lift. Later after leaving Recontre East he offerered me a beer which I had to decline for driving reasons. I felt badly no accepting his friendly offer. I’ll wish that I had that beer some hot day after I’m finished riding. They were going to a wedding celebration and started just slightly ahead of time. Once again, in fact daily, I get so well treated by everyome.
image
image

Captain Roy Piercey and all of his crew were very helpfull to load the bike. We used a tray with a single point lift instead of my slings. All my preparations and worries were unnecessary.  At the last moment I passed my camera to one of the passengers to photograph the lift of the bike and me astride to hold it steady. I think everyone around took pictures of me sitting on the bike to steady it. Truely a million dollar ride being lifted aboard while sitting on my Vstrom! I explained to the operator, who also rides, my comparison to riding highway #550 known worldwide by bikers as the million dollar highway going through Silverton Colorado. Believe me because I know. Riding the tray to get lifted aboard this ship was more memorable.
image
image

image

image

Special thanks to Anne and Frank for taking and emailing the sequence of pictures of me in the tray. Have a safe journey and try to have as much as do.

A very calm trip with spectacular scenery complete with whale blowoffs in the distance. When we arrived later in Pool’s Cove I got to rode the tray again. TFA !

image
image

image

image
This is possibly the best picture of my Vstrom and if you look closely you will see SPOT doing his thing while resting on the topcase. SPOT rides in my suit pocket and seems to be able to communicate with satellites well enough to know where he is at all time, but prefers to be in the open to send messages. Thanks to Rodney in Georgia for helping prove this.

While I’m at it, thanks to so many other riders who have given me some piece of invalueable gear which travels with me. You guys aren’t physically with me, here in NL, but are with me in spirit. Bruce, the orange micro-cloth that you gave to me 5 years ago at The Iron Horse mc campground, is used every day with Plexus to wipe my visor. In so many ways you have helped me to see my way clearly all over the NA continent. Road Toads rock!

Please Leave a Reply

