Unpacking, laundry and data dumping

16 Aug

Lots of laundry to do, including my sleeping bag and some very stinky socks and running shoes. My sweat-soaked, road-filthy RoadCrafter suit washed up well and I had sunny weather and a light breeze to dry out my Big Agnes tent. Tomorrow I’ll take the liner out of my helmet and wash it. Even though I wore a sweatwicking skull cap every day, the inside of my helmet is gross considering it was new when I left.  Traveling light on a motorcycle has one major advantage over car camping; there’s not very much gear to unpack and put away.

I successfully have dumped all of my 4112 pictures from four different SD cards and all of my gps tracks and cookie crumbs from the Garmin Zumo 550.

My good friend Jim, who rode with me last summer around the Gulf of the St Lawrence River, has carefully recorded and created a map from all of my SPOT check-in locations; see the pdf file attached.   JPG Gord’s Vancouver Ride 2012

Editing my blog using my computer with a real keyboard and a reliable internet connection is much easier than using my smart phone and intermittent wifi; and it’s  nice to see and have access to the pictures from the Fuji X10.

 

One Response to “Unpacking, laundry and data dumping”

  1. victoracuity August 17, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    I heard on the CBC news that the hazmat team had been scrambled to an address in Kingston. Now I understand why. Did they impound the washing machine?

    I’m very happy to know that you’re back and have stories to tell, pictures to show … and a book to write?

    … even if it means that you’re all washed up now.

Please Leave a Reply

