Manitoba

2 Aug

I enjoyed some good condition road surfaces as soon as I crossed into Manitoba. Great roads & great scenery.

Old Manitoba homestead

I ventured into a field to take some pictures and I was invited aboard a harvester by Tom, who farms 3400 acres of wheat. I was with him in the “buddy” seat  in his AC, GPS controlled JohnDeere 9870 STS as we cut a couple swathes. I’ve got pictures and movies on my camera, and have promised to email. Thanks Tom.   Too bad access is dificult to my camera pictures, I’m not able to have full access to them for posting post, probably until I get home in a few weeks.   I’ve managed to upload a few pics from my camera, this is a good one of Tom’s thrasher.

Further down the road I couldn’t resist a detour north to some murals in Cherry Creek known as Boissevain.image

image

 

One Response to “Manitoba”

  1. victoracuity August 3, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Your comment about riding on a John Deere brought to mind Neil Young’s song “Thrasher”, which conveys a sense of awe about the size of the machines that do this work. Especially relevant, and perhaps (although I doubt it) new to Tom are the lines:

    When I saw those thrashers rollin’ by
    Lookin’ more than two lanes wide
    I was feelin’ like my day had just begun

    Enjoy the ride, eh?

Please Leave a Reply

