Wet weather

1 Aug

I enjoyed a good tent sleep without the fly, knowing that I could move under the cookhouse roof close-by if necessary.

It’s a Big Agnes Copper Spur UL2 man tent; light weight, packs well and survives wind and rain.
image

I watched the early daybreak sky brighten and minutes later light rain started. Oh well at least I got an early start, and the cooler temps were nice to ride in. Enroute I detoured to Regina; thinking I may as well get an oil & filter change on a wet day. This will get me home.

image

I’m thrilled how well the Vstrom is running, regardless of the abuse it gets from the poor road conditions. Sask road repairs are not motorcycle friendly; over use of loose gravel applied to pavement sucks. All the locals complain and no-one knows why the gov’t doesn’t do proper road re-surfacing. Having considerable riding experience in US and Canada, I can Sask has the worst roads.

I’m now in Estevan at the Souris Valley Museum, of Energy. It’s the sunshine capital of Canada. The museum contains old historic artifacts, mostly farming related.

image

Retired strip coal mining equipment, used locally in about 1948, is in the parking lot. Two mines are still working, some for export to Ontario, some used for local genrtating and a small amount sold locally for residential heating.

Please Leave a Reply

